top of page

Creature of habit


I'm a creature of habit, borderline obsessive. I call it structure, my wife calls it madness. It gives me anchors and her and the boys headaches. In terms of eating habits this translates into me ordering the same thing. Always. I know what I like and I like what I know.

Last night we went for a meal to celebrate my wife's birthday. We went to an old favourite in town. It had been a while. I usually get a pizza when I'm there, actually when I'm anywhere. Fiorentina, the one with the egg. I know it's a bit odd, isn't it? A pizza with an egg on it!! Somehow it works. I like those leaves that come with it. I forget their name.

'Do you not want to try something different?' she said. 'It's her birthday, why not?' I thought. What could possibly go wrong? So I braved a whole new world. Pasta with peas. 'Trofie.' Never eat anything you can't pronounce, but that narrows things down way too much for an Ashington lad. So, I went for it. As a gift to her. The one I love.

I didn't see the reference to mint. She swears it was there. She saw it. Pasta, peas, mint and other stuff. Mint in pasta! Eggs on pizzas I can handle, but mint in pasta. Mint is for gum and toothpaste.

I ordered. It came. I ate. It was fucking awful.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page