top of page

Writing my first novel - reflections


Once you tell people you are a writer you realise how many others either are, or want to be. I read a recent survey that found writing was by far the most popular vocation people aspired to. It has a glamour and mystique, and everyone has a story. I always encourage people to find their story and have the confidence to tell it. Don't be daunted by the mountain. Writing a novel is best viewed in stages. Completing each stage is an achievement in itself and will spur you to the end. You can do it. Small steps. One word at a time. That is all. Just choose the right ones.

Something people ask me a lot is what it is like writing a book and what I have learned from it. Here are a few of my thoughts. I’m sure they will echo with many writers in all stages of their careers. Hopefully, they will reassure and encourage those who are aspiring writers, or those who have hit one of the many barriers we all face. Writing is often a lonely task, but you are never alone. There are others and many willing to help. So here goes: 1. Writing is a thrilling and frustrating experience. Every day you get the chance to create your own world, but some days that world is hard to find. Don’t let the hurdles put you off. Overcoming them is part of what makes writing such a rewarding achievement.

2. Don’t try to write the next Booker prize or classic novel. I know all writers think they will, but they probably won’t. If you approach writing with your ego you’ll be crippled by the tyranny of the blank page. It isn’t the page that’s being brutal, you are punishing yourself. Free yourself from the staring eyes of others and simply write the best story you can at that moment. What more can anyone ask? As writers we are lucky. We get to create, so rather than tyranny see the endless possibilities.

3. Write about something you love. If you do the chances are the passion will show and the reader might just love it all the more because of it.

4. Write with a person in mind. I wrote ‘Becoming’ for my eldest son Jake. I wanted to write a story that captures the struggle of growing up, and making the difficult and scary transition into the adult world. I wanted to inspire him to find and do what he loves. Like everyone, I guess I'd like my kids to follow their hearts and realise their dreams. We influence our kids in more ways than we, or they will probably ever know.

5. One of the most painful things we all have to learn is being a writer and becoming a published author are two very different worlds. It is a tough industry and there are more writers and books out there than ever. The reader is swamped with choice and so are agents and publishers. However, with the challenges come new opportunities. Do your research. There are more options than ever open to writers these days. There are pros and cons to all routes, but in broad terms the choices in publishing seem to be mainstream and indie.

6. Be warned. If you set your heart on the mainstream path you need to learn to cope with rejection. Your submission will be cast aside for many reasons, often not the quality of the work. It is the norm. Don’t take it too personally. Be resilient and keep persevering. Believe in your work and if you get a sense it isn’t good enough then improve. Many great writers have been rejected, including literary classics. Many published authors still are. Take heart from this, or look at the alternatives. The mainstream route is not always the best for everyone. Know yourself. 7. There are lots of indie options available these days including independent publishers, online ebooks, and print on demand. Plus the old vanity routes still exist where you pay someone to produce the books for you. A lot of indie routes have advantages. Online options such as Amazon have much better financial returns per book. They allow you to publish books much quicker with the author maintaining full artistic control. The downside is you need to work much harder on marketing. It’s hard to get discovered as an indie writer. You may sacrifice sales for freedom. It’s all about priorities. Independent authors have to wear a lot more hats. You do everything, not just write. There are other options now such as releasing via blogs or serialisation. New opportunities emerge all the time. I know I need to keep up with these developments.

8. If we’re honest I think most writers still hope they get signed with a mainstream publisher. We all know the big advance, literary prizes, film deal, and best seller flying off the shelves are the stuff of dreams, but we dream about it anyway. We are writers, and more prone to dreaming. Reality is a lot more sobering. The publisher is shouldering the risk so takes the lion's share of the profits. You are selling the rights to your work to them and in exchange they are investing in you in the hope the book will sell and make them a profit and you an income. Very few writers become rich, only a small number are able to make a decent living. If you want to be rich there are better ways of making a fortune than writing. Most writers do it because they have to, they feel a compulsion to tell their story. They put up with the struggle for the personal reward not the financial. The dream of big advances and prizes can be seductive, but few mainstream writers last beyond a couple of books. The vast majority of mainstream books don’t make a profit and every year agents and publishers have meetings about who they are going to drop. By all means explore the mainstream route, as most of us will. Be realistic though, and don’t be too hard on yourself. Whatever happens keep writing. You may never publish a book, but you can always be a writer. Only you can make that choice.

9. Lots of writers are more open to exploring the opportunities that independent publishing offers. There are zealots on either extremes that can make a strong case for both routes. The key is to find the best path for you. I am still open minded in terms of the publishing options. I see advantages and issues with both routes, but it would be good to have as many options as possible open. At this stage I see the independent route as appealing and exciting mostly for the faster timescales and greater creative control. It allows people the chance to read my work, and provides me with an opportunity to learn about the process and understand the best ways to disseminate my books more widely. I love writing, but connecting with new readers and exploring how to reach a wider audience is important too. I want to learn how to be a better writer and author. Maybe I just like to be in control.

I have found something I love. Writing is a challenge, but also a joy. Publishing a book is a whole different puzzle, fascinating and frustrating. Being a writer and an author present different issues, but you can find the solution that works for you. Be patient and persistent. I’m about to publish my debut novel ‘Becoming.’ It’s the end of one journey, but a part of what I intend to be a much longer one. I’m proud that I have written a novel. It is an achievement and I have learnt so much along the way. I will take what I’ve learned and use it to help me write and publish more books. I can do it. Small steps. One word at a time. That is all. I just need to choose the right ones.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page