top of page

When will we see the next book Chris?


It's been a strange few months. I started a new job in the summer, managing youth projects for the National Citizen Service. It’s rewarding work and I’m loving being involved in the development of young people again. It’s an opportunity to give something back and put the skills and experience I gained in my previous roles to positive use. Writing is still my passion, but passion doesn’t pay the bills, at least not enough of them yet. I was determined that my next role would be the right one for me. I want to feel as though I am making a difference. I’ve made a good choice.

Project management can be a dry job if you let it. The focus is so often contracts, plans, spreadsheets, and targets. It’s easy to lose sight of the purpose, of what you really do, and why you do it. In our case the purpose is to change the lives of young people. It sounds lofty and trite, but it really is as simple as that. One of the joys of the role is I’ve been visiting the programmes and seeing the young people in action. Working with their peers, making new friends and developing new skills. A key part of the programme is to inspire young people, to challenge, and push them beyond what they thought they could do. Every day they astound me. It has reminded me of the immense creativity and resilience in our young people. They all have so many gifts and talents, if only given the chance to discover and nurture them. The ideas they have developed to support social action in their communities are inspiring. The commitment they show to delivering these projects is humbling.

Like many of in our society, young people are portrayed in a negative way. Our media is sensationalist, seeking to highlight all that is wrong not right. Drama, tension, suffering. They sell. They are the hook to draw the viewers in. The truth is millions of people deliver simple and extraordinary acts of giving and compassion every day. The world is full of love and kindness, but for editors this is too mundane to report. We need to keep reminding ourselves of this reality. Look for it and you will find it. Every day I am being reminded that much of this love and compassion comes from our young people. Given the right focus and steer they are capable of making a huge difference to the lives of those around them. They are intelligent, passionate, inquisitive, critical and constructive. They care.

In recent years I have been smothered by the dark clouds of the media, becoming convinced the future was bleak. Every day now I see the seeds of hope. Young people are planting them all around. The future is being imagined and created through the actions of today. Simple acts of love and compassion. The future is in good hands and is much brighter than we think.

One of the problems with contractual work is it leaves less time to do the things you love. In my case music and writing. My music hasn’t suffered. It always takes priority. I can’t imagine my life without it. My writing is done in bursts, snatching moments when I have the inspiration, time and energy to put down the words. I still get huge bursts of creative energy. The ideas still flow and pictures still flood my head. It’s timing the flow and flood right that is the problem. They seldom come in the evening when I have the time to focus. More often weariness has taken hold and my brain is beginning to unwind. I am experiencing the struggle of most writers, juggling the need to pay the bills with the compulsion to write. And it is a compulsion. Ask any writer. We don’t write for money or fame. We write because we have to. It is a need, a bug, a passion. If others enjoy what you create that is a bonus. Few writers have the privilege of writing as a full time job. Those that do, most often take years to reach that position. Some get lucky, and the stars align for them. Take nothing away though. Those writers work as hard as any of us. They are talented and committed, but you need a bit of luck. You also need a bit of nouse.

I read somewhere that the successful authors of today are as good at business as they are writing. This makes sense. It is something I am learning. Publishing has changed, presenting challenges to traditional routes and exposing the risks. At the same time the changes have brought new opportunities, especially for the indie with with a bit of business savvy. Traditional publishers often promise the earth and deliver little but small advances and much disappoint. The new wave of writers are prepared to take control of their own destinies and manage the process themselves. The returns may be more modest, but the rewards are far greater. We don’t all want to be Harry Potter. Some of us would rather be Joy Division. Writing is a creative compulsion, being a full time author is a business. Like any business you need to be patient, work hard at it, and never give up.

So onto the question everyone asks me - when will we see the next book? The good news is my second novel ‘The Storm’ is almost complete. Believe me these things take time, something I have had much of less of recently. Writing the book is only the start. I have a week off soon, and I will spend the time preparing those last few touches, readying it for the final push. It will be done soon.

Whilst my first novel ‘Becoming’ was dark and twisted dystopian. In contrast, ‘The Storm’ is twisted and dark supernatural thriller. It is set in Northumberland in the mid nineteenth century. I am proud of it, and I enjoyed creating it. The few that have read ‘The Storm’ have loved it. The feedback has me tingling with excitement and anticipation. I can’t wait to let you all read it. Be patient my friends. Without you the book is nothing. I wrote it, but you give it life and meaning. Thanks again for all your support. It means everything.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page