top of page

My Festive 25 - Albums of 2017


I love writing lists, and there are few I look forward to more than my favourite albums of the year. I usually say in no particular order, as each of these has entertained and enchanted me in different ways. There were some surprises for me this year. The War on Drugs are a band I have mixed feelings on, but their latest album has refused to go away, dominating the airplay on the car CD for some weeks. The new U2 album is excellent. Granted, they’re not the most popular of choices these days, tarnished by the emergence of their business practices and approach to taxes. Yet, they’re a fantastic set of musicians and the chemistry and understanding you build over a forty year period has to be respected.

Julie has spent a lot of time listening to the latest album by Hurray for the Riff Raff, ‘The Navigator.’ I recall loving their last album, and the snippets I was hearing around the house hooked me again. I downloaded ‘The Navigator’ a good while ago and listened to little else for some time afterwards. Essentially, the band is the creative vehicle for lead singer, Alynda Segarra. Of Puerto Rican descent, the album has a strong latin flavour. The songs and lyrics are exceptional, but it’s the rhythms and mood that I love most. I’m into drums at the minute and love to hear them used in inventive ways. The standout track is ‘Pa’lante’ which contains the lines, ‘I just wanna prove my worth, on the planet Earth, and be something.’ Those words resonated with me. It’s a sentiment that connects most creatives. I think we all want to leave our mark, and if it doesn’t happen in your lifetime die hoping it will someday. Who knows? Maybe our time is yet to come.

I'm writing another list at the moment. My plans for 2018. I have lots of exciting things planned for my writing, not least the release of my second novel ‘The Storm’ on the 6th January. I’ve also had an extension to my contract at work confirmed. Finding the time to write after a busy day managing contracts is going to be a challenge, but one I’ll need to meet if I’m to finish ‘Awakening’, the follow up to ‘Becoming’ and get some of these new ideas going. Of course, music is my first love. It always will be. I need to get thinking about some new challenges in this area. It’s time to be creative. So, as I like to say, in no particular order:

1. The National - Sleep Well Beast

2. Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile - Lotta Sea Lice

3. The War on Drugs - A Deeper Understanding

4. Father John Misty - Pure Comedy

5. LCD Soundsystem - American Dream

6. Hurray for the Riff Raff - The Navigator

7. St Vincent - Masseduction

8. Richard Dawson - Peasant

9. U2 - Songs of Experience

10. The Young’uns - Strangers

11. Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit - The Nashville Sound

12. Lorde - Melodrama

13. Iron & Wine - Beast Epic

14. Laura Marling - Semper Femina

15. Fionn Regan - The Meetings of the Waters

16. Robert Plant - Carry Fire

17. Grandaddy - Last Place

18. Aimee Mann - Mental Illness

19. Elbow - Little Fictions

20. Michael Head & The Red Elastic Band - Adios Señor Pussycat

21. Queens of the Stone Age - Villains

22. Everything Everything - A Fever Dream

23. Sparks - Hippopotamus

24. Billy Bragg - Bridges Not Walls

25. The Unthanks - Diversions, Vol 4. The Songs and Poems of Molly Drake

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page